Un Chien Andalou (1929)

Lola is on brief hiatus. Meanwhile on the list of the ten best things in life, up ahead of your kids and wife, surrealist movies gotta rate about number three.
Un Chien Andalou (1929)
Link

Watch the famous surrealistic movie short by Salvador Dali and Luis Buñuel.
Run Time 16 minutes

“Got me a movie
I want you to know
Slicing up eyeballs
I want you to know
Girlie so groovy
I want you to know
Don’t know about you
But I am un Chien Andalusia”

The Pixies – ‘Debaser’

For more information about Un Chien Andalou, see:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Un_chien_andalou

2 Responses to “Un Chien Andalou (1929)”

  1. Cliff Burns Says:

    After hearing about it for ages, I finally got a chance to see “Andalou” about six months ago. What a mind-blower. Considering it was made something like 75 years ago–it is evocative and weird and thoroughly uncompromising. A thoroughly surrealist work, unapologetically vague and unsettling. Luis Bunuel is an extraordinary director with a body of work anyone affiliated with cinema would be awed by. Every film I’ve seen by the man amazed me…

  2. Kevbo Says:

    I still remember seeing it for the first time in my freshman year of college as a media study major. Holy WTF, Batman!

    Twenty-plus years since then and nearly 80 years since it was made, it’s still so striking to see. I like to look for Dali’s influence in it.

Leave a Reply

